Skip to main content

Your Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Click here to continue shopping.

Voices of Mississippi: Special Vinyl LP Edition

This record encapsulates the life’s work of William Ferris — an audio recordist, filmmaker, folklorist, and teacher with an unwavering commitment to establish and to expand the study of the American South. All tracks are available on vinyl for the very first time. Publication Date: November 16, 2018

1. Scott Dunbar – “Lil’ Liza Jane”
2. Mississippi Fred McDowell – “Big Fat Mama”
3. Louis Dotson – “Bottle Blowing”
4. Scott Dunbar – “Jaybird”
5. James “Son Ford” Thomas – “Cairo”
6. Inmates at Parchman Farm – “Water Boy Drowned in the Mobile Bay”
1. Mississippi Fred McDowell – “I Got a Letter from Hot Springs”
2. Lovey Williams – “I’m Standing in the Safety Zone”
3. Mary Alice and Alan McGowan – “My Mother’s on that Train”
4. Reverend Ott and Family – “You Don’t Knock, You Just Walk On In”
5. Walter Lee Hood – “They Tell Me of an Uncloudy Day”
6. Mary and Amanda Gordon – “Lord, I’m in Your Hand”
7. James “Son Ford” Thomas – “Cemetery Conversations”